How do I apply for admission?
To celebrate our 50th anniversary, save $50 on your law school application. The first 50 special applications received for Summer 16/17 or Fall 17/18 only.
Submit the completed form and $15.00 application fee (cash or check, non-refundable) by U.S. Mail or in person. Applications are not accepted by fax or on-line. Submissions will be acknowledged in writing.
Please refer to the How To Apply page for the appropriate checklist of additional required documents.
Who should I ask for letters of recommendation?
The best people to ask for recommendations are typically employers, supervisors, academics, or other established professionals who know you well and with whom you have an ongoing rapport. Leaders from volunteer or community-based activities are also an option if your participation has been significant.
Whoever you ask should know you well enough to meaningfully comment on your character, intellect, and work ethic in a manner relevant to your potential as a law student and future attorney.
Can I finish faster than 4 years?
No, Glendale offers a 4-year, part-time evening law program only. The curriculum is structured and cannot be accelerated. The curriculum has been thoughtfully developed to help students succeed academically, as well as to balance life and law school optimally.
What is the class schedule?
Students attend one class per evening. First-year students attend class 2 to 3 nights per week, second and third-year students 4 nights per week, and fourth-year students 3 nights per week. All classes are scheduled to meet from 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and/or Thursday nights.
How do I pay for my education?
GUCL students have the option to make tuition payments quarterly, monthly, or with a student loan, whichever suits their finances best.
Can I transfer from Glendale to an ABA law school?
Transferring in law school is uncommon. Prospective law students should thoroughly investigate their law school options before enrolling. Attempting to transfer can be inefficient when curriculum do not sync, resulting in extra costs or delayed graduation. Ultimately, the decision of whether or not to accept transfer credits rests with the school being applied to.
How are the Bar Exam pass rates?
With each administration of the California Bar Exam, law schools and their graduates await the release of results. Multiple factors can impact those pass rates in a way that raw statistics may not reveal.
Glendale University College of Law has analyzed years of its Bar Exam statistics. Those statistics support what common sense suggests: the higher a student's GPA, the higher the likelihood he or she will pass the Bar Exam. The Dean candidly discusses institutional bar pass rates at our monthly open house.
Bar pass rates for Glendale University College of Law and all other ABA, CBA, and Non-Accredited law schools in California are available here.
What academic support programs are offered?
Skill development and academic success are taken seriously at GUCL. Our support programs provide students with access to abundant resources throughout the four-year program. These include New Student Orientation, Legal Method and Examsmanship, BARBRI Law Student Success Resources, and BARBRI Bar Review.
What careers do your alumni have?
Glendale University College of Law Alumni have found success in a wide variety of legal settings, some of which include:
- Superior Court Judge
- Court Commissioner
- Senior Assistant Attorney General
- Deputy District Attorney
- City Attorney
- Public Defender
- Assistant Chief Counsel
- Named Partner, Equity Partner, and Associate
- Small Firm/Solo Practitioner
- Appellate Attorney
- Corporate Counsel
- Criminal Defense Attorney
- Civil Litigator, Plaintiff and Defense
- Law Enforcement Leadership
- Police Detective
- Children's Advocate
- Real Estate Litigator
Do I have to take the "Baby Bar" (First Year Law Students Exam)?
No! Since Glendale is accredited by the State Bar of California, students admitted as Degreed-Regular (BA or higher) and Non-Degreed Regular (minimum 60 su) are EXEMPT from the Baby Bar. The only exception applies to students admitted as Special Students (less than 60 su) which is uncommon.